New OSHA Reporting Requirements

New OSHA Reporting Requirements

As of January 1, 2015, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration will require employers to report:

  1. All work-related fatalities within 8 hours.
  2. All work-related inpatient hospitalizations, all amputations and all losses of an eye within 24 hours.

In the past, employers only reported all workplace fatalities when three or more workers were hospitalized in the same incident.

You can report to OSHA by

  1. Calling OSHA’s free and confidential number at 1-800-321-OSHA (6742).
  2. Calling your closest Area Office during normal business hours.
  3. Using the new online form that will soon be available. Cal/OSHA work related accident reporting website.

Only fatalities occurring within 30 days of the work-related incident must be reported to OSHA. Further, for an in-patient hospitalization, amputation or loss of an eye, these incidents must be reported to OSHA only if they occur within 24 hours of the work-related incident.

OSHA’s updated recordkeeping rule expands the list of severe injuries that employers must report to OSHA.

Who is required to keep records? Who is exempt from keeping records?

OSHA regulations require certain employers to routinely keep records of serious employee injuries and illnesses. However, there are two classes of employers that are partially exempt from routinely keeping records:
  • First, employers with ten or fewer employees at all times during the previous calendar year are exempt from routinely keeping OSHA injury and illness records. OSHA’s revised recordkeeping regulation maintains this exemption.
  • Second, establishments in certain low-hazard industries are also exempt from routinely keeping OSHA injury and illness records.

Starting on January 1, 2015, the following North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) list of low-hazard industries will be partially exempt from OSHA recordkeeping requirements:

Click here to view the list.

Since 1982, this list has been comprised of establishments in the divisions of retail trade; finance, insurance and real estate; and the service industry if the three year average lost workday case rate for their major industry group was 75 percent or less of the overall three year average of the lost workday case rate for private industry. The new list of exempt industries is now classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), which is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The injury and illness rate threshold is based on more recent BLS data.

Learn About the Reporting Requirements
Read the FAQs

Source: DOL

2014 © Copyright Payroll Masters

This document has been provided for informational purposes only and is not intended and should not be construed to constitute legal advice. Please contact your employment attorney in connection with any fact-specific situation in which you intend to take significant employment action. Readers agree that they will not hold Payroll Masters in indemnity and Payroll Masters assumes no liability. Payroll Masters is not engaged in rendering legal or accounting services. Therefore, Payroll Masters assumes no responsibility for claims arising from the use or implementation of the above information.