Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Signed Into Law For California

Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Signed Into Law For California

Today – September 10, 2014, California became the second state in the nation to provide paid sick leave. This morning, Governor Edmund G. Brown signed the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 (AB 1522).

The effective date for employers to begin providing the paid sick leave benefit is July 1, 2015.

There are many nuances to this particular piece of legislation, which applies to all employers, regardless of size, except for those with collective bargaining agreements and certain other limited exceptions.

The bill requires employers to provide paid sick leave to any employee who has worked in California for 30 days, at an accrual rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. Employers are allowed to limit employees’ use of paid sick leave to 24 hours or three days in each year of employment.

The bill also contains a new posting requirement.

Source: CalChamber

2014 © Copyright Payroll Masters

This document has been provided for informational purposes only and is not intended and should not be construed to constitute legal advice. Please contact your employment attorney in connection with any fact-specific situation in which you intend to take significant employment action. Readers agree that they will not hold Payroll Masters in indemnity and Payroll Masters assumes no liability. Payroll Masters is not engaged in rendering legal or accounting services. Therefore, Payroll Masters assumes no responsibility for claims arising from the use or implementation of the above information.